The Greater New Milford area will once again be represented in a Democratic-controlled Hartford by veteranRepublican legislators.

Spectrum 1On an election day Tuesday that statewide saw Democratic incumbent Gov. Dannel Malloy survive a challenge from the GOP’s Tom Foley, and Democratsremain in charge of both the state House and state Senate, the Greater New Milford area generally voted Republican.

Incumbent GOP state Sen. Clark Chapin comfortably won a second, two-year term in the 30th District, which includes the towns of New Milford and Kent.

Chapin beat Democratic challenger Bill Riiska of Lakeville for a second straight election, this time by a 58-42 percentage margin.

New Milford’s native son captured 19,021 votes to 13,674 for Riiska in Tuesday’s voting in the 14-town district.

RSpectrum 2epublican incumbent state Rep. Cecilia Buck-Taylor easily turned back the challenge ofDemocrat Gale Alexander to win a second term from the 67th District, which covers most of New Milford.

Buck-Taylor won, 61-37 percent, polling 4,361 votes to Alexander’s 2,603.

Green Party candidate Cynthia Day attracted 158 votes.

Chapin was pleased early Wednesday his message had been heard by voters.

“I’m grateful to the voters in the 30th District for their overwhelming support,” Chapin said, “and for responding positively to the positive campaign I ran.”

Chapin said focusing on the issues important to his constituents has been and will continue to be his goal.Spectrum 3

“It has been and will continue to be an honor to represent 30th District residents in the Connecticut state Senate,” he added.

Although the final vote had Chapin well in front, at points during Tuesday evening, the two candidates were neck and neck.

“I congratulate Clark Chapin on his win,” said Riiska, who conceded before New Milford’s numbers were official. “Now we have to work together to see that the state comes out of the doldrums it finds itself in and flourishes.”

Riiska reflected Wednesday perhaps Democratic voters in the district had not come out to vote in the same numbers as Republicans.

Chapin, a career politician whose father had served 10 years as New Milford’s first selectman in the 1970s and ’80s, spent 12 years in the state House in Hartford as representative of the 67th District before winning the state Senate seat in 2012.

In the state Senate’s 32nd District race, Republican incumbent Robert Kane won a fourth term by some 7,000 votes over his Democratic challenger, Donato Orsini.

Among the towns included in the 32nd District are Bridgewater, Roxbury and Washington.

Buck-Taylor won convincingly in New Milford’s 67th District.

“I am looking forward to continue to make the voice of the 67th District heard in Hartford,” Buck-Taylor said. “I sincerely thank all of the voters and supporters who gave me such a resounding victory.”

The New Milford attorney said she will work hard to “enhance Connecticut’s quality of life” for its families while improving the economic climate both locally and statewide.

Alexander felt he had fought the good fight and praised those who had backed his uphill battle.

“It’s disappointing that my message didn’t resonate as well as Cecilia’s,” Alexander said. ” We ran a good race.”

“My volunteers were dedicated and worked hard to bring results,” he added. “These things aren’t done individually.”

Alexander said he would keep an active hand in politics, remaining on New Milford’s Board of Finance and considering runs for future legislative seats.

In the 108th District, GOP Rep. Richard Smith ran unopposed to win a third term.

Sherman and the northwest corner of New Milford are in the 108th.

The 64th District was again captured by Democrat Roberta Willis, who polled 51 percent of the vote to overcome her Republican challenger, Brian Ohler.

The 64th District includes Kent.

In the 69th District, veteran Republican incumbent Rep. Arthur O’Neil ran unopposed.

The district includes Bridgewater, Roxbury and Washington.

For Warren residents, GOP incumbent Rep. Craig Miner will remain the state representative for the 66th District. He polled 68 percent of the vote in his race with Democratic challengerMarjorie O’Neill.

For all the voting results, visit and

For more photos, see updates at; 203-731-3352